AbsencePresenceConfidenceTears

A wonderful eulogy by Jourdie Ross. Also, a post on Tricycle by our dear friend Pamela White,
http://www.tricycle.com/blog/mipham-chokyi-lodro-14th-shamarpa-dies-61

purelysubjective

10012428_750029341708840_7672981847827205460_n

We lost a good one today. One of the best ones.

Exactly two weeks ago today I was having tea with Shamar Rinpoche, talking about the future of Buddhism in the West, the future of his centers in Europe and the States, and my own future as a practitioner, disciple, aspiring teacher, and dutiful minion in the operation of Dharma centers in the Karma Kagyu lineage. For nearly the first time in my life, I had had the courage to ask for something I wanted, to nudge and persist and dare because it felt important. And I got it. An interview with my teacher. The guide I had been following, but from afar, for the last eight years of my life.

When I discovered the Dharma as a wayward seventeen-year-old in New Zealand, the woman who introduced me to meditation and the teachings of the Buddha was a student of…

View original post 1,685 more words

Leave a Reply

