Aloha all, from Kona!

Aloha!

Aloha!

Don Erway here.

I left Pasadena, a year ago, to help out my parents over here in Kona, as they moved into an assisted living facility.  That has been going very well.

I have been very active with a Japanese Soto Zen temple near where I live, called Daifukuji.  They have about 200 member families, from elderly members, to families with young children.  They have a nice library.

I meditate and chant some sutras every Wednesday morning, at 6 am, and every other Thursday, in the evening.   I have been volunteering every Tuesday, at 7am to teach some “at risk”, youth, to meditate.  They are teenage boys, and this is challenging!

I have been reading a new translation of Master Nagarjuna’s Mulamadhyamakakarika, by Nishijima and Brad Warner.  It is somewhat more accessible than previous versions.  The commentary speaks to modern understanding.

The weather here is wonderful, year round.  The big thing I miss, is Wednesday night Bodhipath, with all my friends, and especially now the video series!

Happy Thanksgiving, and holidays!
Don

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Lisa Acosta
    Nov 22, 2013 @ 16:28:40

    Hi Don! Great to hear from you! We miss you too! Wow, how time flies and we are a year closer to becoming Bodhichittas 🙂 Hope to see you soon, take care, Happy Thanksgiving to you and yours! ~Lisa

    Reply

  2. Eleanor Heaphy
    Dec 03, 2013 @ 22:49:17

    Hi Don–All because of borrowing Khedrub’s book from you, I am going to Wednesday evenings!! I guess I sort of took your place! It sounds as if all is well in Kona. I am glad things have worked out for your parents. Hang in with the kids–your instruction will be of great benefit to them. Thank you for the book loan! Eleanor

    Reply

Leave a Reply

